BSB Highlights

With the BSB over for another year we look back on the highlights of the season as well as our favourite riders. Scroll to the bottom to see the final standings.

Byrne and Lowes crash out as Brookes wins!

Race two of Brands Hatch took a dramatic turn when favourites Byrne and Lowes both crashed out to take Brookes into the lead. Byrne hit the front of the Paddock Hill Bend at the start of the race while Lowes crashed coming out of Druids in the first lap. Despite Brookes’ dramatic win, Lowes and Byrne remained first and second respectively in the final standings chart.

Lowes crowned champion for first time!

Alex Lowes took his first championship success this season beating BSB favourite Shane ‘Shakey’ Byrne. Josh Brooks’ treble win did not deter the 23 year old who managed to keep hold of second place to take the championship. Byrne congratulated Lowes, now the youngest ever championship title holder.

Lowes remains top of timetable at Assen after a startling practice session!

The outcome of Lowes’ outstanding season was clear when he consistently came out fastest in many of the races earning him the top spot on the timetable. At this point in the season he had already shown an outstanding talent and a promising rising star.

Westmoreland secures historic pole position!

Donington Park saw James Westmoreland take the maiden pole position ahead of the ninth round. The rider and Buildbase BMW have now become the first German manufacturer in the history of the Championship to claim an outright pole position.

Final Standings:

C Alex LowesSamsung Honda643
2 Shane ByrneRapid Solicitors Kawasaki636
3 Josh BrookesTyco Suzuki621
4 James EllisonMilwaukee Yamaha589
5 James WestmorelandBuildbase BMW564
6 Ryuichi KiyonariSamsung Honda522
7 Jon KirkhamBuildbase BMW213
8 Tommy BridewellMilwaukee Yamaha197
9 PJ JacobsenTyco Suzuki188
10 Chris WalkerQuattro Plant Kawasaki168